RSS

Life Lessons from violin class : Lesson 5 : Practice till perfection

04 Feb

Practice, practice, practice. Quantity and Quality all matters. Playing any musical instrument is all about practice. It is all the more true for the violin. As a student I have to practice. I know I can. I know I will. But how much ? Till my hands ache ? Till I feel it is enough ? Till some digression comes in the form of a phone call ? What actually is enough ? Who judges perfection ? There are some songs that need hours of practice and still sounds like hollow, with lot of space to improve and refine. Without a proper judge there cannot be improvement. One reason why people search and find a good guru, especially in music, is because of this. The value of a critic who can differentiate and tell what is wrong, where exactly and how to overcome the seemingly insurmountable. An examiner can give words of advice, suggestions and possibilities and his judgement, that remains on paper, making itself a glyph to be decoded later. A good guru (teacher ?!) solves the issues of analysis, training, comprehending, making things easy to understand, easy to play, treat the disease of wrongly placed notes and improve the overall music throughput from the violin, otherwise a collection of pieces of wood and strings.

In life at one point or other we have this feeling of emptiness, where there is no further progress from the current state. One has to go in search of a critic or mentor to find out places to improve. This guru could be one’s self, an imaginary tutor or an inspiration for great men. More than spiritual or divine intervention it is much about the way a human mind works. One tends to look at with jealousy at some valiant connoisseur. Sometimes we envy. Sometimes and most often with intimidation. The stages of thoughts tend to tempt the mind towards mediocrity. And it needs to be reminded that there is no limit to excel.

Whatever our work in life or profession we start with curiosity, interest, need and then slowly put effort to practice with quantity and then quality and then both. Then we reach a state of betterment. There is no stopping here, we move further. Get tempted to perfection. Practice more. Practice until perfection.

Read more from this series here :-

  • Life Lessons from violin class : Lesson 1 : Do not think ! - After learning some basic notes on the staves I was told to know it by heart. I had to memorize it, and then tell when I see a note. I used to count, say memorizing only the first not in space , the “F” on Treble clef. From there on I would count and then […]
  • Life Lessons from violin class : Lesson 2 : Don’t work hard - The power of doing work is a single most important criteria that distinguishes a human as a social animal compared to others. The collective and individual efforts towards a work makes one understand the minute and the big picture at the same time. All work is not easy. It is also possible that some workaholics […]
  • Life Lessons from violin class : Lesson 3 : Emphasize on Quality of Practice - I read “ Debunking the 10,000 hours rule “  after my previous lesson learned. My previous lesson learned said about not working hard. The working hard part is broken into small steps taken one at a time to overcome the hardness of the work. This works for people who are ready to be steady and […]
  • Life Lessons from violin class : Lesson 4 : Don’t tap your foot out loud. Focus on what you play. - In violin class I have been taught to keep the rhythm of the song by tapping with the foot. The human metronome works parallel to the song being played. Often we  have to shift attention from the song and listen to see if the rhythm and beat is correct per bar. This shift in attention […]
  • Life Lessons from violin class : Lesson 5 : Practice till perfection - Practice, practice, practice. Quantity and Quality all matters. Playing any musical instrument is all about practice. It is all the more true for the violin. As a student I have to practice. I know I can. I know I will. But how much ? Till my hands ache ? Till I feel it is enough […]
  • Life Lessons from violin class : Lesson 6: Health conscious practicing - If there is one thing in life,that is more dearer than the life itself, it is health. Life without good health is a misery. And life is maintained through good health. Longevity of life, if one wishes it, is not very pleasant without an accompanying good health. A good marriage between health and life makes […]
  • Life Lessons from violin class : Lesson 7: Start slowly grasp quickly - The v.v. age old saying goes an umpteenth time to say ” Slow and Steady wins the race” . This is because it is true. But the beauty of the truth lies in experiencing it in action. As with violin or any musical instrument, the beginning is really very slow. It is expected to be […]

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 4, 2015 in Lesson, Series

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Life Lessons from violin class : Lesson 5 : Practice till perfection

  1. Polomi

    February 9, 2015 at 12:37

    I took classes on playing violin too, and that was once upon a time. For inevitable pressures of life, I couldn’t continue taking the classes and my desire to play this majestically music instrument remained unfulfilled. I absolutely loved all the time I spent practicing my violin lessons.
    I wish all the best for your violin lessons.

    Like

     
    • ajeya

      February 9, 2015 at 12:39

      Take it up whenever you feel like. Get hold of book by Berthold Tours and W.C Honeyman. With some practice and resources you can be back on track.

      Like

       
  2. Polomi

    February 9, 2015 at 12:43

    Wow thank you so much for the references! But can one really learn how to play a music instrument from lessons of the books? I would love to pick up my violin as early as possible. It is when I play it, I find serenity in the midst of all the chaos of the world.

    Like

     
  3. ajeya

    February 9, 2015 at 12:51

    Here is great reference, if you play western classical violin

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
