RSS

Shamitabh is thicker than water

09 Feb

I wandered through the streets of Delhi, unmindful of the pollution or the traffic. I roamed in that freezing winter. Then I reach my room only to see the Shamitabh trailer a hundredth time. Dhanush, Amitabh, Shamitabh and repeat! Devuda! why! even the newspaper is full of Shamitabh. As his name says “amit” (over and above the limit)  and “abha” (aura) is what the marketing people have done literally . Even in the season of nail-biting election campaign this February Shamitabh pulls off the TV audience.Getting irritated by repetition in telecast media is not new to me. Previously,  I had really got frustrated at Fabregas for no fault of his.  I had to pull of the plug. There is film, people would watch if they feel like. And then Amitabh in Shamitabh would say ” I am the alcohol and the other fellow is water”.

This advertisements also run on the same philosophy, who is water depends on which side you are in. The advertisements bring free news and programs ( is it the alcohol ?) , for the viewer the content is important and advertisement is like water. Wasted water, wasted resource of air time, wasted time, and more often a non-sense irritant, to watch repeatedly the same advertisement which is not at all useful. That is the trade off , I guess. Milk is mixed with water. Politics is mixed with non-sense. Blogs are filled with noise. And more than air, more than water, what people look for is the kick; of the content. Where does the kick come from ? From something which catches the attention of the mind, from something which is pleasing to the eyes, to the ears, from some information which is useful. I feel that is why the Blogging 201 asks to put up a motto, an aim, on why to write and for whom to write. I have not really reached a real practical conclusion on this regard for my scribblings. Nevertheless, I see my blog statistics , get addicted to it, and then feel this. This is addictive, this is alcohol, even water can be addictive when it is in short supply.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Shamitabh is thicker than water

  1. Polomi

    February 9, 2015 at 12:33

    This must be the first post of yours that I am reading and I immediately became a fan of your writing! I read the full post expecting to find a review of the movie and instead, I got insights to a blogger’s mind. I especially loved the line, “Milk is mixed with water. Politics is mixed with non-sense. Blogs are filled with noise.”
    Hope to read more of your posts 🙂

    Like

     
  2. ajeya

    February 9, 2015 at 12:41

    Thanks for the generous comment. Happy to learn that my post has captured some attention and given some insights and thoughts.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
