RSS

In the currents of Pokemon

15 Jul

The last I checked I am unable to get my Pokemon Trainer Club account to authenticate me into the Pokemon Go app. It is july 15, 2016 evening in USA. By night I can imagine how many souls will be roaming the streets to de-bug and catch the pokemons. I played it with my friend yesterday for two hours into the night. University at Buffalo, north campus was much infested by Pokemon trainers as the pokemons themselves. We could catch some understanding smiles at the supermarket sometime back, and here in the campus we were getting tips on the go. We were new to it, but cracked open 2 levels in 2 hours. We were catching pokeballs and pokemon left , right and center, thanks to the good network that he has and the car. Yes! we used the car.

I grew up playing single player games in multiplayer mode. Like me and my sister used to play age of empires together ( single player in the PC) but multi-player in real. This was more fun than the lone wolf regime. Once I had played FIFA football single player with me and 2 other friends. This was the time when gaming centers were popular as the internet swept through India. So, we three boys were sitting at a PC. My friends wanted to play FIFA and one of them took his pocket money of 20 Rupees ( which will pay for one hour of gaming). We got the FIFA running. There was a steering wheel bang in the middle of the PC. That would give shooting and left and right movement. if what I remember is true, I was at the arrow keys and the funding sponsor took the advanced controls of dribbling, juggling and shooting. That was some crazy fun.

We had organized playing of Farmville when it was integrated and very popular in Facebook. Me and my extended family would plan to do Co-ops and grow the required plants in a scheduled manner. This was physically over 700kms away in radius and completely done online and very efficiently. I remember those days where we had a scheduled harvest and I was jobless guy doing the harvest and fertilizing. There were professionals with job doing it with me. I never felt I was wasting resources or time. In fact, it was a learning experience about team spirit and agriculture.

And here I am 10+ years after what happened at a memorable time, in a different country playing with an equally old friend getting tips from some random undergrads in school on Pokemon and being childishly happy about it.

My phone with Android 4.2 Jelly bean does not support Pokemon Go.  I tried some APK files but to no success. So I was satisfying the curiosity by playing Ingress. A pretty neat game due to its simplicity. It draws directly on the two party system of USA. This game from Niantic was supposedly popular and I could feel it by playing it and seeing the intel map worldwide. That was really awesome. But then there is no fun if you cannot get to a team, organize, plan and schedule your movements. It is really massively online gaming that requires a team or team support. There is no real point in doing it alone. Because the portals captured and control areas created on day 1 would be broken that day itself without proper support.

The good thing about Pokemon Go is that you can do it alone for some levels and still be happy about your Pokedex (collection of pokemons). In this process of leveling up it is quite natural that you would team up with some people that you meet on the road. by level 5 , I believe there is access to gym. And the choice here is, to join one of the three factions, unlike Ingress where it is two. It is yellow , blue and red here compared to green and blue in Ingress. If you do not have a good internet connectivity or phone that does not support the games or features then you will be like me, trying to connect to every available free wi-fi. It is still possible to work within this limits. But in ingress, I found this very limiting, because we need to capture area. While in pokemon we can still be happy about a little weedle or rattata that always appears on your doorstep. Pokemon is more about being happy about what you have, while Ingress makes you greedy to go about and capture like (some country) which wants it influence over larger and larger area, fire something and destroy enemy resonators. The ingress fans who dislike pokemons are either not having the app supported in their devices, hatred due to unavailability, or they are acting like grown ups who are like the accountant in the little prince.

There are crazy people everywhere, in both the games. But what is the character of the players. Consider you are using the latest of technologies. Camera, augmented reality, signal processing, networking technology, 4G LTE, Wi-Fi, MEMS sensors, gyros, and adaptive light sensitive displays just to have fun. It better be good enough to promote good character. Pokemon though meant to fight in the gym and win battles are not that violent enough to destroy or make enemy or degrade the morale of co-players. In that sense I appreciate pokemon a lot. As I write this I am starting to like Pokemons more and more. As a child I used to watch the pokemon series in the TV. Though I would not understand many things that they said, it was fun to watch. I was called “Pokk mon” ( “Gone son!” in malayalam) by my mom. It was fun. Then as I landed in USA I was playing Pokemon training cards of which I had to learn everything from my nephew. From him I learned that the world is richer because there are more pokemons than just kanto ones. Again 9 months hence I am into gaming with Pokemons. Thanks to my friend who has a spare phone, I ditched ingress from my own phone , and started on pokemon in this spare phone which supports the app. Now! that I have the power, I can make a choice.

This leads me to the thought that occurred when I quit watching formula one. But for now, for  a few more days the Pokemon is not going anywhere.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 15, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “In the currents of Pokemon

Leave a Reply

 
